top of page

National Symposium on
Emerging Trends in Chemical Sciences 

ETCS 2023

Online registration is Closed. Spot registration will be available. 

5 Best Posters (sponsored by ACS) will be awarded.

About ETCS

The Chemical Science deals with constitution and properties of matter. It is the art of chemical synthesis of nature which has led to existence of billions of molecules from only ninety plus elements effectively available around us. The rising exponential growth in demands of varying functional materials has led the Chemists to emphasize over newer strategic design and synthetic routes. The same have yielded plethora of materials with multifaceted values at affordable costs. Furthermore, new kind of functional materials, supramolecules, polymers, nano materials, boranes, super conductors, sensors/bio-sensors metallo-boranes/ carboranes are continuously pouring over the world’s horizon. The same are expected to fulfill our future aspirations. This symposium aims to provide a platform to researchers particularly Chemists across the country to exchange their ideas over design, synthesis, application and environmental aspects of materials

Committee Members 

National Advisory Committee

Prof. H. Ila, JNCASR Bangalore
Prof. J. S. Yadav, Indrashil University, Ahmedabad
Prof. Vishwakarma Singh, IIT Bombay
Prof. Vinod K. Singh, IIT Kanpur
Prof. G. K. Lahiri, IIT Bombay
Prof. Samar K. Das, University of Hyderabad
Prof. H. N. Ghosh, NISER Bhubaneswar
Prof. Rama Kant, University of Delhi
Prof. C. V. Ramana, CSIR-NCL, Pune
Prof. K. R. Prasad, IISc Bangalore

Organizing Committee

Prof. Sudhir K. Jain, Vice-Chancellor, BHU

(Chief Patron)
Prof. Anil K. Tripathi, Director,
Institute of Science

Prof. Sukh Mahendra Singh, Dean, Institute of Science

Prof. M. S. Singh, Head, Department of Chemistry

Prof. Satyendra K. Pandey (Convener)
Dr. Roop Shikha Singh (Co-convener)
Dr. Ashok K. Basak (Secretary)
Dr. Kanak Roy (Jt. secretary)
Dr. Manivannan S. (Treasurer)

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. D. S. Pandey

Prof. K. N. Singh

Prof. K. K. Upadhayay

Prof. V. P. Singh

Prof. R. N. Rai
Prof. A. Misra
Prof. V. Ganesan
Prof. P. Srivastava
Prof. P. Prakash
Prof. M. D. Pandey

Prof. B. K. Kuila
Prof. V. Prasad
Prof. S. Krishnamoorthi

Dr. L. B. Prasad

Dr. A. Kumar
Dr. N. Goel
Dr. R. Lalneihpuii

Dr. K. Kumar
Dr. K. C. Bharadwaj

Dr. A. Manna
Dr. V. K. Das
Dr. S. Kushwaha

Prof. M. S. Singh

Prof. R. Venkatesh

Prof. S. Bhattacharya

Prof. B. Ray

Prof. I. Tiwari
Prof. R. Kumar
Prof. A. K. Tewari
Prof. S. Saha
Prof. R. K. Mishra
Prof. K. V. S. Ranganath Prof. V. K. Tiwari

Prof. B. Maiti
Dr. M. K. Bharti
Dr. D. Guin
Dr. P. R. Prasad
Dr. J. Singh
Dr. S. Rakshit
Dr. Abhishek Kumar

Dr. S. Trivedi
Dr. A. K. Kharwar

Dr. S. Garai
Dr. M. Pal

MMV Faculty Members

Prof. M. Singh

Prof. D. Katiyar

Prof. S. S. Sunkari

Dr. D. Kushwaha

Dr. S. K. S. Patel

Prof. S. Pokharia

Prof. S. Pratap

Dr. P. Sonkar

Dr. B. Mahanti

Distinguished Professors

Prof. G. Pandey, Prof. B. Singh, Prof. L. Mishra

S K Pandey profile photo

Prof. Satyendra K. Pandey


Ashok Basak Profile photo

Dr. Ashok K. Basak


Manivannan profile photo

Dr. Manivannan S.


Roop Shikha profile photo

Dr. Roop Shikha Singh


Kanak Roy profile photo

Dr. Kanak Roy

Jt. secretary

Abstract and Poster Presentation

Abstracts not exceeding 200 words in the relevant area are invited for consideration as poster presentations. The abstract can be submitted in the online registration form. Click "Register Now" button in the website. Submissions may also be communicated as their soft copies through e-mail attachment to on or before December 5, 2023 along with a copy of completed registration form and registration fees. The font for the abstract should be Times New Roman (Font size 12 pt) with single line spacing and margins of 2.54 cm as text file. The final acceptance will be communicated through email to the concerned corresponding authors latest by December 08, 2023.

The poster should be in A0 format size.

Registration Fee

Student: Rs. 1500 /-
Faculty Member: Rs. 2500 /-
Industry Participant: Rs. 5000 /-

 Please pay your registration fee to "Head of Department, Chemistry, Institute of Science, BHU" account State Bank of India, BHU Branch, A/c No: 10654900048, IFSC: SBIN0000211, and upload the payment receipt in register now form.

Spot registration will be available for attending the conference. (Oral and Poster Presentations are not allowed for Spot Registration)

For BHU students online or offline registrations will be available. For offline registration, please contact Dr. Manivannan S. ( 

About Banaras Hindu University

The Varanasi also known as Kashi has been the capital city of varieties of oriental learning like dance, music and philosophy since time immemorial. As per Indian mythology the Kashi is considered to be situated at the Trishul of Lord Shiva and is an ideal place for the aspirants of salvation. One of the worthiest son of India, great visionary, freedom fighter and statesman Pt.
Madan Mohan Malviya Ji thought very wise-fully to amalgamate the oriental learning of Kashi and India with modern science & technology and thereby established Banaras Hindu University in 1916. By doing so, Pt. Malviya ji fetched the lost glory of Indian education and also catalyzed the process of Independence of our country. Banaras Hindu University in its two sprawling campuses (BHU main campus & Rajiv Gandhi South Campus at Barkachha) has 6 Institutes, 16 Faculties, 140 Departments and 4 interdisciplinary schools covering almost all frontier areas of Science, Technology, Medicine, Agriculture, Arts, Social Science, Commerce, Education, Law, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, Management and Sanskrit Vidya-Dharma Vigyan.

About Department of Chemistry

It is one of those few departments, which were established soon after the inception of Banaras Hindu University. The faculty members have been involved in imparting quality education to UG & PG students beside their active involvements in frontier areas of research. The thrust area of our research is functional materials via Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Polymer chemistry, Organometallic Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry, Photo-chemistry, Applied Electro-chemistry, Theoretical chemistry, Molecular Electronics and Analytical chemistry. The department derives its research funding from a wide range of funding agencies viz. UGC, DST (SERB), CSIR, DBT, DRDO, BRNS etc.

bottom of page